#Calexit To Nowhere

calexit-2

 

It’s official. The Electoral College has spoken. Donald Trump is the President-Elect of these United States of America. Those last four words are important, because they describe the nature of this country: individual states united into a nation.

But to hear the hysterical left carry on about it, you certainly wouldn’t know it.

In my last three columns I discussed how unglued they’ve become since Trump’s Trumanesque victory over Clinton, and I thought I was done with the subject. Well, it turns out that just when I thought they couldn’t get any crazier they went ahead and proved me wrong.

Have you heard of #calexit? It seems that there’s a contingent here in this state that wants to collectively and figuratively stamp their feet in frustration, take their ball, and go home.calexit By that, I mean they want this state to secede from the Union. The word “calexit” is obviously fashioned after the term “brexit” which resulted in the start of the withdrawal of Britain from the European Union. A petition is in circulation for a ballot proposition to advance the act of seceding from the Union.

With great sadness, however, I have to inform them that their plan is a non-starter. When a state joins the Union, it’s kind of like the Mafia: once in, never out. It’s not a membership in a health spa or gym. In fact, we actually had a little event known as the Civil War back in the mid-1800s that made that point rather dramatically.

The Constitution goes to great lengths describing the process a state has to go through to join up. There’s not one single word about ever being able to pull out again. In fact, there have even been Supreme Court cases confirming that reality.

The crazies promoting this idea like to point out that if it were an independent country California’s economy would be the eighth largest in the world. All well and good, but they also ignore other realities that attach to being an independent country.

About ¼ of the illegal aliens in this country, approximately 3 million of them, live in this state. Additionally, about 1/3 of the nation’s welfare recipients live here, all while the state has only about 1/8 of the nation’s residents.

The only reason those demographics haven’t further bankrupted the state is that the costs of supporting these groups is defrayed and subsidized to a very large part by funding from the federal government, both directly and indirectly, through various grant, aid, and direct funding programs.

But if California were to secede from the union that flow of money would stop dead in its tracks. Then what? Jack up taxes on the already overtaxed people in this state who already are subject to about the highest tax burden in the country?

Of course, this fantastical new Republic of California is going to have to be able to conduct foreign affairs, and defend itself militarily, a huge new expense currently borne exclusively by the United States. Where’s the money going to come from for all the new embassies everywhere, and professional diplomats? And for the new army, navy, and air forces we’ll need, not to mention coastal security, meaning some form of Coast Guard?

Every country in the world has to have some kind of military capability to defend its existence and autonomy, at the very least, and the Republic of California is no different. And don’t kid yourselves; in the eyes of ISIS and the rest of the Islamic jihadis, the new Republic of California will be just as much a “Great Satan” as the rest of the United States, meaning we’ll be participants in the “war on terror” whether we want to be or not. We don’t make that decision, they do.

So, how do we fund this stuff? Even more new taxes? I sure don’t see any other way to do it. Do you?

All of a sudden it starts to become clear that the only reason this state is “the eighth largest economy in the world” is because so many of the financial burdens of its very existence are borne by the country of which it’s a part. But if that support goes away, and as the already high tax burden on its remaining residents increases, not only will that economy collapse, but those remaining productive tax-paying residents will vote with their feet and start an exodus that will deplete this state of its last source of income.

calexit-6The new Republic of California will turn into Venezuela North.

 

 

 

 

©Brian Baker 2017

(Also published today in my local newspaper, The Signal)

 

 

 

 

 

48 comments on “#Calexit To Nowhere

  1. Nee says:

    Martin’s new job was going to be in CA. The taxes we figured were going to be a detriment but we could have done anything for 10 years. Perhaps a blessing in disguise was his death. Heh. There are many Californians who are moving to our state. I cannot imagine the economy collapsing there because of the Hollyweird peeps. Where would they go? New York is the same way. People are leaving in droves. Your overall point is not missed. In my best redneck…let them fuckers try it!!! We’ll have some good laughs!!!

    • BrianR says:

      Nee, the Hollyweird industry can’t possibly support this state as a “nation”. The reality is that a lot of production is already done out of state: Vancouver, Georgia, Florida, and other places.

      Individuals are rich enough to insulate themselves, of course. When you have 30 million dollars you can live pretty much anywhere. But then you’d have a state with a few thousand actors and tech people, and millions of illegal aliens and other mooches.

      Hell-o-o-o-o-o-o-o, Venezuela North!

  2. CW says:

    Let’s see, that would be 55 less electoral votes for Democrats, two less Democrats in the Senate, and 35 less Democrats (out of 53) – including Nancy Pelosi – in Congress.

    Do we get to vote? 🙂

  3. slowcowboy says:

    About the only thing I disagree on is the right to self determination. Yes, a Civil War was fought when states sought to secede, and the states looking to leave lost. I still think, however, that as Jefferson penned so long ago, that people retain the right to create their own, new government when the one they are under goes nuts. Even with this nation and all the great things it has done in the past, we ought never forget that and not think we are to be hostages to a hostile nation towards its people. This needs to be addressed with great care, great wisdom, and not allow it to become reactionary.

    That said, CA is nuts. I laughed when you mentioned getting a military, as I envision such a rough group of people there. Actually, the rough ones may want to stay in the USA.

    But, I live in a different country than you, I think.

    • BrianR says:

      Wait a sec! You don’t think this fine state can field an army? C’mon… what are you saying?

      I can see it now: regulation haircut that includes a man-bun. Combat boots by Gucci. Fanny packs instead of back packs. Yoga-pant field uniforms. A sight to inspire quivering fear in any opposing force….

      • slowcowboy says:

        Maybe the yoga pants on the lady soldiers could be a distraction…

        Maybe on the men, too, since sooooooo many people are gay, you know (sarcasm, in case it does not come through).

        I wonder the weapon of choice, though…

      • BrianR says:

        LOL!

        Apparently you haven’t seen some of the women out here.

        Yeah, I got stumped on the weapon issue, too. Industrial-sized containers of hairspray?

  4. slowcowboy says:

    Ha. You’re probably right. I have been to CA one time in my life, way back in 1994.

    But aren’t the California Girls supposed to be special, or something? The Beach Boys and Van Halen sang a song about them…

    Could hair spray containers become bombs? Terrifying, I am sure…

    • BrianR says:

      The song “California Girls” by the Beach Boys originally came out when I was in high school, somewhere around 1964 or ’65. A lot can happen in 50 years.

      Like an invasion by illegal aliens consisting largely of peasants.

  5. captbogus2 says:

    Oh, Geez, BB, your latest has every affirmative for not only allowing California to Calexit.
    1. We would get rid of 3 million aliens;
    2. We would get rid of the Ninth Circuit;
    3. We would get rid of 1/3 of the nation’s welfare recipients. This, alone, should be reason enough;
    4. As far as California defending itself, we pull out of Germany and, for a price, agree to defend the sovereign state of California provided we are given San Diego, Long Beach and all air bases within the state as well as unfettered access by our military.
    5. Let’s go even farther. If they insist. We may provide adequate spaces at our own foreign embassies for a nominal fee and allow them to establish diplomatic missions therein. For a small fee, of course.
    6. And all of those financial burdens of the world’s eight largest economy will also be off the American taxpayer’s 4/15 annual payment.

    I’m liking it more already…

    Go, California! You go, girl. Godspeed!!!!

  6. slowcowboy says:

    Ha. Old man, but good point. 🙂

  7. captbogus2 says:

    I speak for the other 49. WE’LL PASS A LAW! WE’LL AMEND THE CONSTITUTION!! WE’LL GIVE THEM ABRAHAM’S BLESSING!!!

  8. Kathy says:

    A lot of the guys in favor of secession (or succession as some of today’s Einsteins call it) haven’t stopped to think about where southern CA is going to get their water. From what I understand, most of their water comes in a pipeline from Nevada, and I’m thinking the price of water goes way up when you have to bring it in from a foreign country.

    But hey – from what I’ve read lately, Mexico is wanting some of their original real estate back, so you could probably work with them and become North Mexico. Viva Mexifornia! 🙂

  9. jevica says:

    Brian;

    This idea will not happen because once in you can’t leave. We fought a war about this issue and it was decided in 1865.

    • BrianR says:

      Last I heard, that was true, Jev.

      But here’s my maxim: in order to be able to believe in leftism, you have to be able to ignore five things. Logic, facts, history, human nature, and the Constitution. If you can ignore all five of those things, you, too, can successfully practice being a leftist.

      I think that one falls under the category of “history”, as well as “facts”.

      • slowcowboy says:

        Human nature… Yup. I’m actually drafting an essay on that exact topic now. Well, its couched more in how conservatives recognize that certain things just “are” and its better not to mess with those things.

      • BrianR says:

        Sounds like it’s along the same lines.

        Are you publishing now? A blog or something? Because if so, I’d like to read your stuff again.

      • slowcowboy says:

        No blogs yet. Just something I started writing over Christmas vacation. Revising it down now.

        Intent of it was to show that part of what I think is happening is that there are far more people who just want to live and accept things that are and that these things just are. Liberals trying to change these things make things worse, and people have gotten tired of it.

      • BrianR says:

        Well, I’d sure be interested in reading it. You know I always liked your stuff, Mr. Lawyer.

        I think Trump’s election shows just HOW tired they’ve become.

      • slowcowboy says:

        I appreciate that. I’ll finish it up here and get it to you somehow.

      • BrianR says:

        Cool. You have my email.

  10. CW says:

    >>”…in order to be able to believe in leftism, you have to be able to ignore five things. Logic, facts, history, human nature, and the Constitution.”

    Amen to that!

  11. Hopeful says:

    I can’t wait for the day I can exit Cal! Like so many others, I will leave this state where I was born and resided my whole life, but I don’t think I will miss much about it.

    • BrianR says:

      Yep. Unfortunately, I’m anchored here forever by family, otherwise I’d have been gone a decade or more ago.

      • Hopeful says:

        I understand, Brian. My adult children and my parents and father-in-law are the ONLY reason we are still here. I won’t leave until the parents are gone, and truthfully, there is a chance I would stay after that because I hate the thought of moving away from my children. However, if we do move, we won’t move further away than a days drive, which means Arizona (Prescott possibly) or Nevada (Las Vegas maybe). Of course, if my kids end up moving out of this state, where we go will have a lot to do with where they move.

      • BrianR says:

        Yeah, it’s my daughter and her family for me, too. And since I see them a lot, and do daycare for my granddaughter, I have to stay local.

        Interestingly enough, my daughter would also be willing to move… except for her Mom, my ex.

        MAYbe I could talk the whole clan into going. In that case we’d be gone in a flash. One can only dream…

  12. jevica says:

    Brian;

    The FOOLS have many exiting New York and going where the taxes are much lower. Cuomo is giving away all this free stuff

  13. garnet92 says:

    Ordinarily, I might have noted that the idea of a Calexit is as dumb as the fruits and nuts who are pushing it, except that not long ago our own brand of nuts were pushing the idea that Texas should secede from the union too.

    It doesn’t take long to identify enough of the economic upheaval that would result from a real succession to learn that it’s not feasible for many reasons, not the least of which is that it would never get through Congress and secondarily because it would be economic suicide.

    It looks to me like it’s just some kooks who are trying to intimidate the brain dead into thinking that there would be benefits for anyone other than the very wealthy. That, and establish permanent lifetime job security for attorneys.

  14. captgene1976 says:

    When I first saw the title I thought it had to do with folks like me that are preparing to abandon this liberal utopia as soon as possible! The whole Calexit concept is as stupid as the HSR idea.

  15. captgene1976 says:

    Hey Brian, wanted to let you know that I got banned over at The Signal. I don’t know how he did it, but thought you’d want to know.

    • BrianR says:

      Damn, Gene, I’m sorry to hear that. Any chance of a reprieve?

      • captgene1976 says:

        It’s no big deal, and I’m not going to bother trying to be allowed back on. If The Signal management is going to allow an obvious nutter to have that kind of influence, I’m not going to waste my time defending myself to them.

        I just thought you should know how far he will go to silence his critics.

        Here’s my email, drop me a line sometime, I’d like to stay in touch:

        Take care.

      • BrianR says:

        Got it, and I’m shooting you an email.

        Coincidentally, the Signal’s hosting a luncheon today for its Opinion “contributors”, and I’m planning on raising this issue there.

    • Hopeful says:

      I am sorry to hear that Gene. As you have probably noticed, I disappeared from the Signal, but that was because I didn’t want to have to post using my real name, AND I cancelled my subscription since they bowed down to someone like Ed Shalom. I will miss reading your comments!

      • CaptGene says:

        Thanks Hopeful. I reached out to the signal and asked what the reason was, and they haven’t got back to me. To my knowledge they haven’t removed any of my comments, so it must have been the name thing, though I don’t know how they would know whether I’m using my real name or not.

Leave a Reply

