War And Syria. An Open Letter To My Congressman

The following is a letter I hand-delivered to the local office of my Congressman, Representative Howard “Buck” McKeon, who also happens to be Chairman of the House Committee on Armed Services. I’ll let the letter speak for itself.

Brian Baker
(ADDRESS)
Saugus, CA   91390

(661) (PHONE NUMBER)

(EMAIL ADDRESS)

4 Sep 2013

th[6] (3)Representative Howard “Buck” McKeon

Dear Buck,

I want to take this opportunity to express to you my thoughts on the current situation vis-à-vis Syria, as I know you and your fellow legislators will be debating the issue in the very near future.

First some background. I grew up in a foreign service/military family and spent five years in the Middle East (Iran) where I went to high school in the mid 1960s. My Armenian mother, now a naturalized American citizen for over six decades, was born and raised in Iran. I’m a Vietnam veteran, Life Member of the VFW, and student of military affairs and doctrine. Because of this background I consider myself pretty knowledgeable about the issues involved in this current situation.

To be blunt, I see absolutely no reason for this country to be engaged in the internal strife in Syria, on any level.

First of all, we don’t even have a horse in this race. Why would we consider backing one group against another group when the reality is that whichever side prevails is still going to hate us? Haven’t we learned anything from history? From Iran? From Libya? From Egypt? From Iraq, which is already falling to pieces again?

Consider Afghanistan. Why are we fighting there? What’s our purpose? How do we define “victory”? How do we get back out of there? When? What’s going to happen after we leave? Do we want to keep repeating the same stupid mistakes over and over and over again?

Einstein noted that the definition of insanity is repeating the same actions while expecting different results. Isn’t that what we’re doing in the Middle East? Or as Santayana noted, those who ignore the past are condemned to repeat it.

There are only two reasons why this country should ever go to war: to defend ourselves, and to protect or extend our own national self-interest. Well, Syria certainly isn’t attacking us, and I can’t discern any national self-interest in what’s taking place in their internal civil war.

Obama babbles about some vague and chimerical “responsibility” that “the world” has to respond to the alleged use of chemical weapons in Iraq, and then threatens to attack Syria with missiles. Well, first of all, if “the world” has such a responsibility, why isn’t “the world” doing the attacking? Why are we “the world’s” police force? And isn’t such an attack absolutely no different from the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor? That “day that will live in infamy”? We would be attacking a country that hasn’t attacked us, nor any other country beyond its own borders. There are no treaty obligations or commitments anywhere that would attach to or justify such an action.

Let’s examine the strategic implications. First of all, as anyone with military knowledge and/or experience knows, your battle plan lasts only until the first shot is fired. After that, the other guy gets a say, too, and your plan goes out the window. From that point on, everything is improvisation. Obama may think, in his abject ignorance, that he can blithely lob a few missiles at Syria without any repercussions, but he – and we, if he does it – is in for a rude awakening if Syria or its allies decide to respond in some fashion. They have a myriad of choices on what they can do, and most of them are potentially very unpleasant. You’re the Chairman of the Armed Services Committee; I’m not telling you anything there that you don’t already know.

There are also the political considerations of the end result. Obama, as did Bush before him, seems to think that somehow we can accomplish some kind of “nation building” in the region resulting in Western-style democracies friendly to our country. Nothing could be further from the truth, and I say that based on my intimate knowledge of the region. The regional Islamic nations don’t have the cultural or social heritages requisite for such a result. They’re riven by sectarianism, centuries-old rivalries based on religious dogma, clannishness, endemic and institutionalized corruption, and a religion that discourages individuality and independent action. Their social structures are dominated by “strong men” who hold on to power with a death grip. Show me one example where we removed one of these men and he was replaced by what we would consider a “democracy”. There aren’t any such examples.

th[5]The last, and possibly most, important thing I want to mention is this: just who does Obama think he is to drag this nation to the brink of war on his own say-so? The Constitution is crystal clear that the power to declare war rests SOLELY with Congress. The President doesn’t have the power to declare war on his own, nor does he have the veto power over Congress’s own determination.

Obama’s been acting like he’s been coronated with the laurel wreath of an Emperor, instead of simply elected as President. He has absolutely no authority to go around lobbing missiles at other hapless countries simply because he feels like it, no matter what his supposed “justification” is. That’s up to CONGRESS to decide, not him.

And I’ll take that one step further. Obama’s been making not-so-veiled threats of proceeding with his bombing anyway if he doesn’t get congressional approval. In my opinion, that is the very definition of an impeachable offense, and if he does in fact do that, I’ll expect articles of impeachment to follow promptly.

Thank you, Buck, for taking the time to consider my thoughts on this matter. I’m also going to post a copy of this on my own blog site as an “open letter”. I hope you don’t mind, but I want my readers to know my thoughts on the subject.

Here’s the site’s URL, if you’re interested:  https://theviewfromtheisland.wordpress.com/

Sincerely,

 

 

© Brian Baker 2013

 

77 comments on “War And Syria. An Open Letter To My Congressman

  1. Gunny G says:

    Absolutely awesome. I could not have said it better. Obama is pulling an FDR/LBJ trying to pump up the economy via war. Damn the SOB to Hell.

  2. Mrs. AL says:

    A compelling letter, BrianR. My compliments. Going to send your email notice to some friends of mine. Hope you don’t mind. Come to think of it, would you be opposed to my using some of your sentences in crafting a letter to my Senators?

    • BrianR says:

      MrsAl, thank you for the kind words. I’m very flattered. Also that you’re going to circulate the link/email around. Again, thanks.

      And please! Feel perfectly free to use whatever part of what I wrote in whatever you yourself are writing, especially to congresscritters. Heck, copy-and-paste the whole thing! Same goes for anyone else, too. Again, I’m flattered.

      • Mrs. AL says:

        You are welcome, BrianR. Saying it the way I see it. I am indeed leaning in the direction you have articulated. However, I have something nagging at the back of my mind and can’t quite figure out what it is. That said, I believe I will be sending my letters this Friday and using some of your verbiage.

      • BrianR says:

        Interesting. I’d like to learn what’s nagging you, if you can define it.

  3. clyde says:

    World-class post, Brian. Take a bow. I’ll be MOST interested in hearing McKeon’s comments. Most of the limpsticks of the GOP are drooling over who can kiss Obama’s ass the quickest, and for WHAT, exactly? The ONLY thing the PSP party will get out of this is blame when the fiasco goes south. Make bank on that, pard. Again, bravo on an outstanding letter.

    • BrianR says:

      Clyde, thanks very much for those kind words.

      It’s already started. As should certainly have been expected, spineless wimp Boehner came out today basically in support of the Golfer-In-Chief.

      What, exactly, does he think his purpose is? To lead the cheering section for the other team, or what?

  4. garnet92 says:

    Great letter Brian. Cogent and pithy. I really don’t know much about Rep. McKeon past what was mentioned in your letter, but I hope that he gives your content the consideration it deserves. I’ll also be interested to see his reply and how it relates to his subsequent vote. Again, good stuff.

    • BrianR says:

      Garnet, thanks to you, too, for the kind words.

      In all honesty, I don’t know what McKeon’s going to do, either. I’ll keep everyone posted, right here.

  5. Nicely done, my friend. It has now been Facebooked.

    • BrianR says:

      Thanks, Craw. And thanks for “Facebooking” it. I see from my site stats that I’m getting visits linked to Facebook. That’s gotta be you.

  6. Hardnox says:

    Kudos Brian. I plan on using your letter as a basis for my three letters. This whole thing is bullshit.

    I am disgusted with the often repeated phrase “America’s reputation is at stake if we do not respond”. The fact is that America’s reputation will be enhanced if our Congress says “NO”. The only one with egg on his face is Zero and that’s for shooting his big community organizer mouth off.

    • BrianR says:

      Thanks, Nox.

      Yeah, how about that? How is OUR “reputation” always at stake, and then afterwards everyone still ends up hating us? Sure sounds like a losing game to me.

      And you’re right; the ONLY “reputation” at stake is The Anointed One’s. No one told him to go out there and start hurling threats all over the landscape. He painted himself into a corner all by his lonesome.

  7. Gar Swaffar says:

    Well stated Brian, very well stated actually.

  8. Nee says:

    Brian- Absolutely well done. My question is why does the SOS believe that if he tells us the “Arabs” will finance this sham how that makes it okay? Every day I am reminded of what a bunch of empty suits all of them are. Not a single one has the balls to call for articles of impeachment
    because they serve themselves not us. If the man wants to pretend to be king, well, OFF WITH THEIR HEADS!!

    • Nee says:

      PS…Kerry said, “if it makes you feel any better…” WTF!! He is prostituting our troops FFS!!!
      Here is a speech from 2002 The Pied Piper…Parentheses have original words and the asterisks are the substituted words to suit today.

      “What I am opposed to is a dumb war. What I am opposed to is a rash war. What I am opposed to is the cynical attempt by (Richard Perle and) ***Paul Wolfowitz Samantha Power and Susan Rice*** and other armchair, weekend warriors in this administration to shove their own ideological agendas down our throats, irrespective of the costs in lives lost and in hardships borne.
      What I am opposed to is the attempt by political hacks like( Karl Rove)*** David Axelrod*** to distract us from a rise in the uninsured, a rise in the poverty rate, a drop in the median income – to distract us from corporate scandals and a stock market that has just gone through the worst month since the Great Depression. That’s what I’m opposed to. A dumb war. A rash war. A war based not on reason but on passion, not on principle but on politics. Now let me be clear – I suffer no illusions about (Saddam Hussein)** Bashar Assad***. He is a brutal man. A ruthless man. A man who butchers his own people to secure his own power. He has repeatedly defied UN resolutions, thwarted UN inspection teams, developed chemical and biological weapons, and coveted nuclear capacity. He’s a bad guy. The world, and the (Iraqi)*** Syrian people**, would be better off without him.
      But I also know that (Saddam) ***Assad*** poses no imminent and direct threat to the United States or to his neighbors, that the (Iraqi)*** Syrian*** economy is in shambles, that the (Iraqi) ***Syrian*** military a fraction of its former strength, and that in concert with the international community he can be contained until, in the way of all petty dictators, he falls away into the dustbin of history.”

      • BrianR says:

        Omigod! You mean Kerry is a — ((((( gasp ))))) — hypocrite?

        I am SHOCKED and ASTOUNDED! Stop the presses!

        What I always find amazing is how blatant they can be about it, without apparently any shame or awareness of the inherent irony.

    • BrianR says:

      Thank you, Nee.

      Yeah, I saw that yesterday; the Arabs will pay.

      Well, what does that makes US, then? Paid whores? Subcontractors? What?

  9. Grey Neely says:

    Obama has few choices in this whole affair, in my opinion. If he doesn’t attack Syria he appears weak. If he does attack Syria, he appears to be over-stepping his constitutional powers. But if we assume that Obama is a “closet” muslim and perhaps a “closet” member of the Muslim Brotherhood (and that many of his staff and advisers have Muslim Brotherhood connections), then an explanation for his actions becomes alittle more understandable.

    The Muslim Brotherhood disaster in Egypt is causing great concern to this group. I wonder if Obama is not being pushed by the brotherhood and their US minions to do something in Syria?

    But in any event, what I am hearing from my connections in the US military is that the actual “combat” leaders (i.e., bird colonels and brigadier generals) are “passing” word that short of an actual attack by Syria on the US or US allies or US interests, they ain’t going. If this sounds like a possible “mutiny”, then I agree with you.

    It will be interesting to see if Representative McKeon answers your letter and what he says. Please keep all of us informed. By the way, my own two senators are not saying much about any of this.

    • BrianR says:

      Hi, Grey. You may be right that his choices seem limited. But he did have one other choice, too: to not issue his ultimatum in the first place. But he got arrogant and cocky. He’d gotten away with it twice before, so in his mind — being the Emperor and all — what was different THIS time, right?

      Well, as always, he was completely tone deaf as to what people were thinking. After all, this is the guy who did a cram down on Obamacare. So he ignored the fact that Egypt was a disaster, with the Muslim Brotherhood — al Quaida, basically — taking over. He ignored the end result of Libya: Benghazi. He ignored the fact that the peeps saw all of this and got fed up with getting involved in these Middle East messes in which we have no stake. And now it’s coming back to bite him in the butt.

      I, too, will be VERY interested to see what the military does if Congress refuses to authorize any military action and if he tries to go ahead anyway. According to the Constitution, the military would actually be duty-bound to refuse to follow such an order.

      I’ll keep you (and all) posted as to McKeon’s response.

  10. Buck says:

    Couldn’t’ve said it better myself. Con permisso, I’ll copy your letter and forward it to my Representative and tell him it represents my opinion, too.

  11. Mrs. AL says:

    Ok, Brian, here is what is nagging at me … the chemical weaponry. I can’t help but wonder if this ‘strike’ has something directly and only to do with the actual weaponry, not the fact it was used per se. If the real goal of this is to get rid of this stuff, maybe that’s what needs to be done. Now I am woefully ignorant about s-gas but I do know it is a nasty, ugly death. I also know it takes very, very little to kill.

    • BrianR says:

      Okay. I think that may well be a valid concern. But again, that doesn’t give OBAMA any authority to run around committing acts of war on his own say-so without congressional authority. That’s why Congress is the body with the power to declare war.

      The proper approach would be for us, AS A COUNTRY, to debate the propriety of acting against, in this case, Syria. We can openly and publicly debate it, and if CONGRESS decides it’s an appropriate action for us to take, they can authorize war.

      Personally, I don’t think there’s anything there that would justify us getting involved. And again, if this IS some kind of danger to “the world”, isn’t it time for “the world” to get off their butts and do something about it? WE are more than capable of defending ourselves. Why are WE always supposed to be “the world’s” cops?

      • Mrs. AL says:

        Ok, I have made up my mind. This would, indeed, be an act of war. We can talk about ‘pin prick strikes’ but lobbing missiles is an act of war and, indeed, Congress alone can declare war. How’s that for reasoning? At the same time, this s-gas, indeed ‘biological’ weapons are proliferating and I find that spooky. I don’t live in fear, but it’s still spooky.

        And you playground bully analogy was great. A lot of us have been calling the Resident a bully for a long time and as I commented on another blog, he is going to get his clock cleaned at some point. Unfortunately, We the people will be involved as well b/c he is Resident.

      • BrianR says:

        “How’s that for reasoning?”

        Logical, rational. Makes perfect sense.

        I really agree that knowing this gas is “around” is a problem. But it’s really been around for decades. Remember the terrorist attack on the Tokyo subway back 10 or 15 years ago? That was sarin gas. Chemical agents just aren’t that hard to make, particularly in this day and age of computers and all. Hell, you can make a perfectly acceptable working terrorist chem agent using household cleansers. Combine bleach and ammonia and you end up with deadly chlorine gas.

      • Mrs. AL says:

        Did I mention “indeed” enough????????????????? Cheez, what a goof.

      • BrianR says:

        INDEED, you’re not!

        LOL

    • BrianR says:

      Y’know, as I think more about it, a playground analogy comes to mind.

      Imagine a school playground full of kids. You know how kids can act unruly. And on this playground there’s one kid who’s bigger than all the rest, and thinks he knows what’s right and best for everybody.

      The problem, of course, is that as in all cases involving people, though the big kid is often right, sometimes he’s wrong. But he views it as his “duty” to keep peace on the playground, so he very often interjects himself into playground squabbles, bossing the other kids around.

      Well, naturally, some of the other kids consider him a bully. And maybe he is; after all, he always makes the other kids do what HE thinks is right, imposing HIS judgment on everyone else.

      Well, you know how the rest of the story goes. Simple human nature. There are a lot of possible episodes, but over time, regardless of what else happens, ultimately most of the playground kids are going to resent the big kid butting in all the time. Doesn’t matter whether or not he’s right; he’s just a plain and pure pain in the butt to pretty much everyone there.

  12. Buck says:

    A call in on Rush said within hours the regime knew who used chemical weapons, where and when yet a year later they still don’t know what happened in Benghazi or Fast & Furious, the IRS or NSC.

    • BrianR says:

      I was in the car, and actually heard that caller. It was a truly excellent point!

      Maybe we ought to lob a few Cruise missiles at Holder while we’re at it.

  13. clyde says:

    “Maybe we ought to lob a few Cruise missiles at Holder while we’re at it.” Brother, I’d push the button on THAT one !! Damn good idea.

  14. thedrpete says:

    Great letter, BrianR. I have already spoken with my congressman, John (Jimmy) Duncan Jr. (TN-2), and he wrote an op-ed for our local newspaper explaining his unwavering opposition to U.S. involvement, and I believe for precisely the correct reason, lack of constitutional authority for either the POTUS or congress. The job of the U.S. Military is to protect and defend the unalienable rights of Americans, not others, against foreign threats to life, liberty, and property.

    Those are not threatened by what is happening in Syria. Tuesday morning I will meet with the congressman and others personally at the Rayburn House Office Building to offer kudos on that, to obtain reaffirmation of his promise to work to capacity to defund, then repeal, “Obamacare”, and to oppose so-called “comprehensive immigration reform”. I will implore him and a few of his colleagues to oppose any increase in the federal debt limit, whatever the “cost”.

    Then, Tuesday afternoon I’ll make a spectacle of myself on the Capitol West Lawn, demanding of Congress that I along with We the People be exempted from “Obamacare”. What’s good enough for our elected employees is surely good enough for We.

  15. thedrpete says:

    Too kind, BrianR and Mrs. AL and Clyde. It’s just thedrpete pretending in public that he actually matters. Meanwhile, We the People are in greater danger than most Syrians.

    The issue is whether the Alinskyite-Coward-&-Piven-top-down-bottom-up-implode-America-and-capitalism oligarchy sees more 2014-election-benefit from hurling mortars into Syria or hurling drones into American-liberty-lovers . . . or BOTH.

    Meanwhile, word to the wise, given the latter, you might want to avoid travel next week on I-81 in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Don’t want you to become collateral damage.

    • BrianR says:

      Warning understood.

    • Mrs. AL says:

      Oh please, DrPete. You aren’t pretending anything. I am pleased you are having a voice in D.C. and can’t wait for a report on your blog. We all have our jobs in this mess. This is yours. Ok?

      Now, BrianR says your warning is understood. Well I understand the middle paragraph but I am a little concerned about the I-81 reference. That’s reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeal close. What am I missing?

  16. Sgt Relic says:

    Well said, Brian! My guy Forbes also sits on the House Armed Forces Committee. To his credit, he has already released a statement on his position; no letters required. Here’s an excerpt:

    “I have no intention of voting to authorize American intervention in Syria. While the President’s decision to seek congressional authorization for military involvement in Syria shows a regard for the Constitution that has been noticeably absent for much of his presidency, I remain strongly opposed to an action that I believe will in no way contribute to America’s national security interests…..”

    Life is strange! With the likes of Obama and Kerry running the show I may end up as a hippie anti-war protester!

    • BrianR says:

      Thanks, as always, Sarge. Great to see ya.

      Yeah, you’re right; Life IS strange!

      Here we are, still on the opposite side of Kerry and the leftists (like Obozo), and now WE’RE the potential “hippie peaceniks”! Man, who’da thunk it?

      Think we can have our own “Woodstock”? Maybe with Ted Nugent headlining? Our own “Summer of Love”?

      Life’s a strange old dog…

      • Sgt Relic says:

        This could be an opportunity! The way I figure it, all that remains to be done is to lie to congress and throw somebody else’s medals on the Capitol steps, and you too can Secretary of State!

      • BrianR says:

        You’re right! I don’t even have to waste my OWN medals! I can do “a Kerry”.

  17. Bill says:

    I got lucky today and found your blog. I am in total shock! Someone from the left coast with some sense. I’m really amazed and thank you for posting your insightful comments. I will be a regular reader from this point on.

    • BrianR says:

      Well, Bill, thank you for those very kind words. Much appreciated.

      Welcome to my Island!

      I hope you enjoy the reading, and we do have some great commenters, too. Please feel free to join in. I can also recommend other blogs, the ones on my Blog Roll.

      Yes, surprisingly enough, there actually ARE some conservatives out here in Commiefornia. Though it sometimes feels like being one of the few sane people in an asylum taken over by the lunatics.

  18. Buck says:

    Speaking of conservatives in California. I heard on the radio last night that 27 counties in North California voted to secede but they have to get consent from the SAC legislature.
    (har) Lots of luck with that…. You guys up north are relied on to provide stuff like free school lunches, Section 8 subsidies and stuff like that for those guys in the South…..

    • BrianR says:

      Great point, Buck. No WAY do the socialist counties of ANY state let the golden goose get away.

      • thedrpete says:

        Between 2000 and 2010 high-earning Californians voted with their feet to the tune of $29.4 billion in adjusted gross income showing up on the tax rolls in other states. Golden geese fleeing California are only bested by the rate in New York.

      • BrianR says:

        Yes, of course. A true fact of life lib/socialists absolutely REFUSE to confront.

  19. AfterShock says:

    Brian, sorry the following isn’t a comment germane to the subject-matter, but, how did you manage to keep your TH blog open? My password stopped working 2 years ago. I have tried to get it opened again but no response.

    At any rate, with that said, who the hell does Obama think he is to use any tragedy to further demote the American people from sovereign to subject. Dictatorships put their country, its’ men and women in harm’s way to satisfy the ego of the dictator, his lust for power and control. Running guns to Al Qaeda Rebels in Syria is treason, plain and simple, as Al Qaeda and their affiliates are declared enemies of the United States. Moreover, Obama using a terrorist attack at a/the Navy Ship Yard in D.C. as his latest excuse to implement 2nd amendment restrictions via executive fiat, is unconstitutional and to the extent that it further erodes our liberty and places law-abiding Americans in harms way, is equally treasonous. If your congressman or any other member of congress supports the Obama administration in its’ Syria policy, he/they are accessories to the the Obama treason and unfortunately that list is a long one.

    • BrianR says:

      Shocky, I have no idea why it still works. A lot of folks had that problem, and I never did. Further, TH has posted notice that they’re not going to host blogs anymore after Sep 1, yet mine still works.

      Ya got me….

      As to the rest: yeah. What you said. This nonsense really has to come to a stop.

      I guess Obozo & Company are so dim they don’t even get the irony of their own blather about gun control after the Navy Yard shooting yesterday. Hellooooooooooooooooooo… the Navy Yard is already a GUN FREE ZONE. There just isn’t any more “gun control” than that.

  20. Buck says:

    Yeah, the stupidest sign I ever saw is one that keeps popping up mainly in health care providers’ offices, “No Guns Allowed”.

  21. Buck says:

    Yeah and the most stupid sign I have ever seen keeps popping up in health care providers’ offices: “No Guns Allowed”

    I tried posting this on firefox but it wouldn’t go through..

  22. Buck says:

    I have a scan every 24. I think it is Firefox. I’ve had nothing but trouble with it since computer whiz #1 Son installed it for me. For my own good. Dontcha know…
    Electronics store saw me coming also.
    Sold me an HP POS….

  23. Buck says:

    Went through that time….
    I dunno.

  24. Buck says:

    Hmmm…. Still 63 comments. Been 63 for awhile.
    Time for a new subject,

  25. israel says:

    Hi there I am so happy I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and
    would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable
    post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the
    moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
    do keep up the fantastic work.

  26. Mrs. AL says:

    Since you don’t have a new post up (hint, hint), then I will pose my Q here … I have seen video clips of your dear Governor signing the increase in the minimum wage over time. Now do my eyes deceive me or was he simply signing and holding one piece of paper? If so and if it’s the actual ‘law,’ I have to compliment California for reducing tree demise and culling the bill down to one sheet of paper.

    • BrianR says:

      Well, MrsAL… LOL!

      I’m actually working on my next essay, and my thanks to you, too, for prodding me on. Nice to know people do care about my scribblings.

      As to Jerry Moonbeam… I don’t know what to tell you. I actually WATCH that moron as little as possible — as I do with Obozo — so I didn’t actually SEE the signing.

      Maybe they wrote it in the same font they use to write the Bible on the head of a pin?

  27. Buck says:

    ….Hmmm….((herein conjure up a picture of me looking at my (long gone) wrist watch and tapping my foot…))

  28. Phenomenal letter and I second it as well. I was elated to hear of Obama’s upcoming impeachment. I signed the articles of impeachment days ago and feel I did my part.

    http://www.ThePoliticalThinkTank.wordpress.com

    Paulette Le Pore Motzko

    • BrianR says:

      Hi, Paulette. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, and for the kind words.

      I reads the articles you linked, both here and at your own website. It’s great that you signed the petition, but I assume you know that actual impeachment can only be initiated by the House of Representatives, not by any popular petition.

      In order for Obozo to be impeached (by the House) and convicted and removed from office (by the Senate), the GOP would have to control both chambers of Congress. Further, conviction requires approval by 2/3 of the Senate. I strongly doubt the GOP can gain that kind of control in next year’s election, and there’s no way any Dems will ever vote to convict the Golfer-In-Chief.

      It’s a great hope, but I really doubt it will ever happen. Unfortunately.

      • You are most welcome Brian. They are 100% true. I am not a hypocrite and integrity is my middle name. If you don’t have that and honesty and credibility, you really have nothing in my book.

        Paulette Le Pore Motzko

      • I am doing my part as an American to impeach Obama and I will pray the House of Reps does the rest. From the amazing unanimous votes I saw come in all over the US, looks like he will be out in 2014 and we will start the year with him not in it. That will be a major improvement.

        Paulette L. Motzko

        TotallyInspiredPC.wordpress.com
        Totally Inspired Mind- Where Positive Minds Congregate

        ThePoliticalThinkTank.wordpress.com

        CookingUpaStormWithMissPolly.com

        PhotosThatInspireWords.wordpress.com

        ChildrenAreOurFutureNow.wordpress.com

      • I think you wrong about that. An ass in an ass anyway you paint em-republican, democrat or otherwise, especially when all the democrats I know are sick of him. Plus he is a liar. What he did goes beyond simple boundaries of Dems, Repubs, Independents etc. Nobody and I mean nobody likes a crook, a liar and someone who didnt keep his word…I will hope and pray by 2014, and my efforts with my blog and persuasive abilities, getting my friends and those in congress to impeach him…he went against the constitition and nearly started a war!
        You should read all of what people and the republicans and democrats are saying. For the first time they all AGREE. 😉 They agree he needs to step down.

        Paulette L. Motzko

      • BrianR says:

        I understand your enthusiasm, believe me. But unfortunately, enthusiasm isn’t going to change the political reality.

        Regardless of what happens in the House, he’ll never be convicted in the Senate. The only election between now and the end of Obozo’s term is next year. There are currently 45 GOPers in the Senate. A vote of 67 is required to convict in impeachment. That means that the GOP would have to gain 22 seats next year to have a chance of conviction. But there are only 19 Democrat Senators up for re-election next year, making that impossible even if the GOPers were able to successfully defend every single one of their own seats.

        With the extreme partisanship on the political scene nowadays, regardless of which party controls the Senate, you’ll just never ever get enough Dems voting for conviction to reach that mandated threshold of 67 Senate votes for conviction.

Leave a Reply

